• Home
  • 2022 Annual Meeting


2022 MCMLA Annual Virtual Meeting

OCTOBER 27-28, 2022

MCMLA follows the Medical Library Association's (MLA) Statement of Appropriate Conduct at MLA Meetings, and the MLA Statement of Appropriate Conduct. Contact the meeting planner Angela Spencer or a member of the MCMLA Executive Committee for assistance with conduct at the meeting.

Interlude Slides displayed during Conference

Schedule:

1pm - 2pm Central / Noon - 1pm Mountain
MLA Update
No recording available

    2pm - 3pm Central / 1pm - 2pm Mountain
    NNLM Update
    Recording available
    Slides

      3pm - 4pm Central / 2pm-3pm Mountain
      Panel Discussion - Yumin Jiang, Brenda Linares, Darell Schmick, Maggie Shawcross, and Emily Vardell
      "Diversity and Inclusion: Moving Us Forward, Updates from the MCMLA DEI Committee"
      No recording available
      Slides

      Join the Midcontinental Chapter of Medical Library Association’s (MCMLA) Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee as they give an update on what they have been working on this past year. The committee will be discussing the past Diversity survey and asking for input on future projects. So join us as we’d appreciate your feedback. We will provide a short training on key concepts used in understanding the role of power, identity and oppression in libraries. The presentation will wrap up with some resources to help you make your library more inclusive.  


       

      Keynote Speaker - Beverly Murphy, MLA, AHIP, FMLA

      • Thursday, October 27, 10:00am Central / 9:00am Mountain

      Beverly Murphy (she/her) has been a librarian for 42 years and is Assistant Director, Communications and Web Content Management at the Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives. She is also the Hospital Nursing Liaison for the Duke Health System and Liaison for the Watts College of Nursing. A Distinguished member of the Academy of Health Information Professionals, Beverly has served in several capacities for the Medical Library Association including the first African-American President and recipient of the Marcia C. Noyes Award, MLA’s highest professional distinction. She also served as MLA Diversity and Inclusion Task Force Board Liaison (now Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee) and Chair of the MLA Professional Recruitment and Retention Committee. In addition to MLA activities, she is active in the Mid-Atlantic Chapter of MLA. Beverly is co-editor of Diversity and Inclusion in Libraries: A Call to Action and Strategies for Success published in 2019 and is co-editing a second book planned for publication in 2023.

      Copyright © 2022 MidContinental Chapter of the Medical Library Association

      Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software