MLA offices - Call for nominations

15 Apr 2014 1:32 PM | Anonymous
(This message is sent on behalf of Melissa De Santis, MCMLA Chapter Council Representative.)

Help Choose Your Leaders -- Call for Nominations for MLA Offices  

The MLA Nominating Committee is identifying potential candidates for the 2014/15 election. If you would like to recommend someone to be nominated for president or the board, or would like to be considered yourself, please send a current curriculum vitae and a paragraph outlining why the recommended person would be a good candidate to one of the members of the Nominating Committee (see below) by May 12th.

The 2014 Nominating Committee members have reviewed the job descriptions for President Elect/President/Past President and Board members, and have discussed key qualifications needed for candidates, including a person who has broad experience within MLA, significant professional achievements,  a great capacity for leadership, a vision of the future of health sciences libraries, and an infectious enthusiasm for the excitement of librarianship at the present time.  We also discussed the importance of diversity in selecting the slate – key issues to consider are geographic region, library or information service type, and amount of experience.

The process for selecting candidates and electing the MLA president-elect and members of the MLA Board is described on pages 2–3 of the MLA Bylaws (log in to MLANET to read this document). The slate will contain at least two candidates for president-elect (president during 2016/17) and at least four candidates for the two vacant board positions (2015–2018).  Job descriptions for president and board members are available on MLANET. The Nominating Committee will meet at MLA ’14 to finalize the list of potential candidates.

MLA 2014/2015 Nominating Committee:

Jane Blumenthal, Chair

Amy Blevins        

Jonathan Eldredge

Susan Fowler      

Mark E. Funk      

Sally Gore           

Heather N. Holmes

T. Scott Plutchak

James Shedlock  

Laurie L. Thompson

Copyright © 2020 MidContinental Chapter of the Medical Library Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software